root

Tau是什么

Tau是一个去中心化的区块链网络,旨在解决人类交流过程中所固有的规模化瓶颈,以人工智能为基础,提高协作水平,加速生产力的发展。

目前,人类进行大规模的集体讨论和协作的效率非常低。为了解决这一问题,我们开发了一种人-机器-人的交流模式:其核心原则是,不仅用户之间可以沟通,而且用户可以将自己的观点通过一定的方式向Tau客户端表述。Tau能够实时地推导出用户群体的共识点和分歧点,从而以一种中间人的角色促进人类之间的交流。Tau能够做到这一点,是因为它可以汇集用户群体希望分享的知识和观点,以逻辑的方式进行重建,并整合进语义知识库。

在理解集体讨论和推导共识的基础上,Tau能够以共识为基础自动生成和执行代码,这个过程被称为代码合成。在当今世界,这将极大地促进知识的生产, 并将人类大规模协作的能力提高到一个新的水平。

Tau的主要特征

  • icon-language
    语言网络

    根据使用目的不同,最适合的语言也会千差万别,不能用单一语言所替代,这就是为什么我们要创建Tau Meta Language (TML):TML用来定义其他语言,而且这些语言可以在保持语义相同的前提下通过TML互相转换翻译。因此,TML能够使各种语言之间的顺畅交流和语义翻译得以实现,这些语言包括编程语言,知识表示语言(knowledge representation languages),可视化和组织格式(visualization and organization formats)语言,以及某领域专用语言(domain-specific languages)等等。

  • icon-discuss
    规模化讨论

    讨论是交换思想和观点的一个非常宝贵的社会活动, 它可以激发新的想法, 并演绎出全新的概念。目前, 大规模的讨论效率很低,通常在500人之间进行讨论产生的效果不如5人之间的讨论。设想一下我们不仅能够同时听取数百人的想法,而且能够以一种创新的方式理解和处理这些信息。通过Tau作为组织平台来促进人-机器-人之间的交流,我们可以高效地总结和查询讨论过程中产生的数据,而且参与讨论的人数不受任何限制,这将是史无前例的创新。从理论上讲, 在Tau平台上参与讨论的人数增加100倍,对信息的利用度以及产生的知识也将增加100倍。

  • icon-knowledge
    全球知识库

    以TML定义知识表示语言(knowledge representation languages),任何用户都能够自由地将自己的知识和观点以逻辑语言(logical predicates)的形式提交到自己的Tau 客户端,或者广播到Tau网络用来形成知识库。另一方面,用户可以查询这个知识库,Tau将帮助用户推导出问题的答案。知识的产生很大程度上取决于讨论的效率。因此, 通过解决大规模讨论的瓶颈, 可以大大提升世界范围内创造知识的效率。

  • icon-collaboration
    协作的自动化提升了协作的水平

    人类的很多工作任务依靠团队协作。提高协作水平可以有效加速人类的发展。在实现规模化讨论的基础上,Tau的可判定性逻辑框架(decidable logical framework)使之能够以用户的共识规范为基础合成和执行代码。用户可以在Tau平台上就某一项目进行讨论协作,形成私有的知识库。团队能够通过可扩展性讨论平台迅速地达成共识,形成一系列的规范,据此Tau能够自动生成和执行代码,完成团队任务。

  • icon-choice
    实时的社会选择(Social Choice)

    公平,广泛而高效的社会选择方法在很多领域都被认为是遥不可及的。在大型的团体中,选择哪些议题需要投票表决是一件棘手的事情,往往很多重要的社会议题和见解都被忽略掉了。同样的,一些大型组织由于无法做到全体成员都能够参与选择和决策,导致了低效甚至失败。Tau引入了一种创新的社会选择机制,用户只需要以逻辑语言(logical predicates,由TML所定义)在Tau网络上表达他们的观点,Tau便能够汇集整理所有用户的观点和整体偏好。得益于Tau的可判定性的逻辑属性和新颖的共识方式,这种社会选择机制能够计算出每一项议题的共识水平。

  • icon-economy
    Agoras智能化知识经济

    Agoras 是一种先进的知识经济, 能够实现知识与货币之间的交易...

    阅读更多

唯一的动态的去中心化社会网络

规模化的讨论,自动化的协作以及实时的社会选择同样可以应用到Tau网络本身,使得Tau区块链网络协议可以根据用户的选择被重新定义和修正。

当Tau社区用户希望对网络的代码,规则或者协议做出修改,他们仅仅需要使用TML定义的语言表达自己的观点。Tau区块链网络拥有自我定义的逻辑能力,能够检测到全体成员观点中的共识,并依此自动修正自身的代码。与普通的投票方式不同,Tau能够考虑到全体成员的建议,任何成员都可以实时地自由地投票表决,以及提出自己的观点供全体成员投票表决。Tau的这种独一无二的特征将成为唯一的动态的去中心化方案。

以上视频是关于在Tau网络上进行讨论的初步阐述。用户讨论的可以是日常生活中的主题,或者某一特定领域比如科学的或政治的主题。值得注意的是,在Tau网络上同样可以讨论Tau本身,使Tau随之做出改变。

路线图

root-left

我们设计了一份路线图,每一阶段都是下一阶段的基础,每一阶段都有自己技术上的创新。我们有望在2019年完成TML和Alpha Tau。以Alpha Tau的讨论平台为基础,大量的开发者都可以参与到Beta Tau的开发,从而加快主网上线。Beta Tau开发好以后,完成Tau-Chain只是一个时间问题,因为所有的技术难题都可以在Beta Tau上以协作的方式解决,而且有希望以一种前所未有的开发规模进行。

 
上线最简模块:Tau Meta Language (TML)  

我们以开发meta language (TML)最为起点,来定义新的语言,并作为新语言之间翻译的桥梁。TML是一种可判定性语言,拥有可以解释和重定义自身的特性,这一点与Datalog相似但有更好的表达属性,因为它允许无限制否定(unrestricted negation)。TML 也能够执行在多项式空间(polynomial space)中可计算的所有运算任务。我们从历史的错误中吸取教训,产品只有充分优化以后才会推出实施。

 
Demo  

发布一个演示程序,用户可以了解与Tau交互的大概过程。

 
Futamura's Projections  

TML的首要任务是用Partial Evaluation的方法定义自身,这就出现了Futamura's projections。这将是Futamura's projections的首个非图灵完备的实例,可以称得上是编译能力的圣杯。

 
语言网络  

将创建一个基于 TML 的用户界面, 以开发一个可以轻松定义、存储和翻译各种语言的系统。这个语言网络在保证语义相同的前提下,相互之间可以翻译转换。

 
知识网络  

为了实现可扩展的讨论平台这一目标,我们将建立一些基础设施,用来存储和查询大量的知识,这些知识以TML定义的语言表示。

 
Alpha 版发布  

Alpha版作为讨论平台,可以允许无数人在平台上进行有效地讨论。它不仅将解决讨论的扩展性问题,而且能够以逻辑化的方式探测到全体用户的共识,从而很容易整理出讨论过程中所有用户的观点。在此平台上,知识的创建和分享将变得更加高效。

 
Beta 版发布  

Beta版在Alpha基础上,将允许用户讨论代码设计要求,然后自动合成代码。

 
Tau-Chain上线  

Tau将是一个根据用户集体讨论决策而不断自我更新的永久性的协作平台,是一个去中心化的点对点的区块链网络。

 
Agoras上线  

Agoras将是一个独具特色的允许知识交易的知识经济市场, 还是一个计算资源市场和高级金融工具。

root

What is Tau

Tau is a decentralized blockchain network intended to solve the bottlenecks inherent in large scale human communication and accelerate productivity in human collaboration using logic based Artificial Intelligence.

Currently, large scale discussions and collaborative efforts carried out directly between people are highly inefficient. To address this problem, we developed a paradigm which we call Human-Machine-Human communication: the core principle is that the users can not only interact with each other but also make their statements clear to their Tau client. Our paradigm enables Tau to deduce areas of consensus among its users in real time, allowing the network to boost communication by acting as an intermediary between humans. It does so by collecting the opinions and preferences its users wish to share and logically constructing opinions into a semantic knowledge base.

Able to deduce consensus and understand discussions, Tau can automatically generate and execute code on consensus basis, through a process known as code synthesis. This will greatly accelerate knowledge production and expedite most large scale collaborative efforts we can imagine in today's world.

Tau Main Features

  • icon-language
    The Internet of Languages

    There is no single best language for all purposes which is why we build the Tau Meta Language (TML): a language intended to define other languages and translate between them while maintaining the same information. TML allows seamless communication and semantic translation between programming languages, knowledge representation languages, visualization and organization formats, domain-specific languages, and more.

  • icon-discuss
    Scaling Discussions

    Discussions are a highly valuable social process of exchanging thoughts and opinions which can lead to inspiring fresh ideas and deducing new concepts. Currently, discussions on a large scale are highly inefficient: having a discussion among 500 people generally yields a less productive result than a discussion between 5 people. But what if we could not only listen to hundreds of people at once, but comprehend and process all this information in a useful way? By having Tau as an organizer in our Human-Machine-Human approach to communication, we can effectively summarize and query all discussed data in an efficient and comprehensible way, and, for the first time in history, allow discussions to accommodate for any number of participants while remaining productive. Having a x100 increase in discussion participants under Tau could, in theory, yield x100 more information utility and knowledge productivity.

  • icon-knowledge
    Global Knowledgebase

    Once knowledge representation languages are defined under the TML, any user can freely submit opinions and ideas as logical predicates to their Tau client, or broadcast it to the Tau network, which combine to form a knowledge base. Users may in turn query this knowledge base and Tau will help them deduce the answers they seek. The production of knowledge heavily depends on the efficiency of discussions. Therefore, by resolving the bottleneck of large scale discussions, Tau can effectively greatly accelerate the production of all knowledge worldwide.

  • icon-collaboration
    Accelerating and Automating Collaboration

    Many worthwhile human undertakings depend on collaborative efforts. By expediting these efforts, we can effectively accelerate the development of our entire species. In addition to being able to scale discussions, Tau's decidable logical framework allows it to synthesize and execute code based on user specifications. Users can create their own teams under Tau to discuss and collaborate on a project with its own private knowledge base. After taking advantage of Tau's ability to scale discussions, teams can quickly reach a consensus on the specifications and Tau can automatically generate and execute code, according to those specifications.

  • icon-choice
    Real Time Social Choice

    Forming a fair, comprehensive and efficient method of social choice has proven elusive in many fields. In large communities, deciding on which issues to vote on becomes unwieldy, leading to many important social topics and insights being ignored. Similarly, large organizations are often paralyzed in their inability to make important network wide choices, leading to low productivity and even failure. Tau introduces an innovative social choice mechanism: users only need to express their opinions in the form of logical predicates (using language defined over TML) posted on the network, enabling Tau knowledge base to be an aggregate of social preferences of every opinion of all its users. Together with the logical property of decidability and a novel consensus formula of ours, the social choice mechanism allows Tau to calculate things like the consensus on every topic expressed, regardless of how remote or esoteric the subject matter.

  • icon-economy
    Agoras Smart Knowledge Economy

    Agoras is an advanced knowledge economy that enables pure knowledge-cash transactions...

    Read more

The Only Dynamic Decentralized Social Network

This process of scaling discussions, code automation and real time social choice can be applied to the network itself, allowing the entire blockchain protocol of Tau to be defined and amended seamlessly by the choices of its users.

When the Tau community intends to make changes to the network code, rules or protocols, they will simply need to express these opinions and perspectives in a compatible language over the network. The self defining logic of the Tau blockchain network will enable it to detect the consensus among these opinions and automatically amend its own code to reflect this consensus from block to block. Unlike the common method of voting, Tau’s approach will take into account the perspectives of the entire community, where people will be free to vote and propose what to vote for in real time. This unique ability of Tau is the only decentralized solution to create a truly dynamic protocol.

The video above is a preliminary illustration of how discussions over Tau may take form. User discussions can focus on everyday subjects or particular disciplines, such as science and politics. Tau will be aware to discussions about itself and change accordingly.

The Roadmap

root-left

We designed a roadmap where each stage supports the development of the next one and is a useful technological innovation on its own. We expect to complete the development of TML and Alpha Tau in 2019. Using Alpha Tau’s discussion platform, an unbounded number of developers can join the project to support building Beta Tau, expediting its go-to-market date. After Beta Tau is developed, it will only be a matter of time until Tau-Chain is completed as all technical challenges will be resolved using Beta Tau, collaboratively, and hopefully in a development scale never seen before.

 
MVP Launch: Tau Meta Language (TML)  

We start by developing a metalanguage (TML) as a tool to define new languages that can be translated among themselves. TML will be a decidable language that holds unique characteristic to interpret and redefine itself, similar (but more expressive) to Datalog, as it allows unrestricted [unstratified] negation. TML will also be able to perform all computational tasks that are computable in polynomial space. We learned from history's mistakes to insist that our implementation will be highly optimized.

 
Demo  

A program will be released for users to get a teaser of how communicating to Tau may look like.

 
Futamura's Projections  

TML’s first mission is to define itself in the method of Partial Evaluation, which gives rise to Futamura's projections. It will be the first non-Turing-complete implementation of Futamura's projections, the holy grail of compilation abilities.

 
Internet of Languages  

A user interface that leverages TML will be created to develop a system that can easily define, store, and translate languages. The Internet of Languages will make languages irrelevant, given the network’s ability to translate from one language to another while keeping the same exact meaning.

 
Knowledge Network  

To finally reach a scalable discussion platform, we will build infrastructures to store and query bulks of knowledge, represented by languages from the Internet of Languages.

 
Alpha Version Launched  

Alpha is a social platform that allows efficient discussions between an infinite number of participants. It will be able to scale discussions and detect logical points of consensus between users, enabling users to easily map the opinions raised during any discussions. Better knowledge sharing and construction will be made possible.

 
Beta Version Launched  

Beta will advance Alpha by allowing users to discuss code requirements and then automatically synthesize a correct-by-construction code.

 
Tau-Chain  

Tau is about perpetual collaborative development of itself based on user agreements. It will do so as a decentralized and blockchain-based p2p network.

 
Agoras  

A fully featured knowledge economy allowing knowledge-cash transactions, computational resources market, and advanced financial tools.